Photo reel #3

lilac muffinssocks1[1] Lilac flowering [2] Raspberry and Blueberry muffins with almond. I wish I could have taken a photo of one of these little cakes oozing and just bitten; where the purple ink of blueberry collides with a syrupy clot of raspberry, their colours bleeding into each other like watercolours on canvas.   [3] Suitably summery palm tree socks.

‘So I take phosphates or phosphites­ whichever it is, and tonics, and journeys, and air, and exercise, and am absolutely forbidden to “work” until I am well again. Personally, I disagree with their ideas. Personally, I believe that congenial work, with excitement and change, would do me good. But what is one to do? I did write for a while in spite of them; but it does exhaust me a good deal-having to be so sly about it, or else meet with heavy opposition. I sometimes fancy that in my condi­tion if I had less opposition and more society and stimulus – but John says the very worst thing I can do is to think about my condition, and I confess it always makes me feel bad.’ [648]

‘It is getting to be a great effort for me  to think straight. Just this nervous weak­ness I suppose.’ [652]

– From ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’ by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1892) – a must read feminist text on nineteenth century society’s attitude to mental illness, writing and women’s role in society.

Leave a Reply

