You have to get the stray gesture. You have to get the slightly wrong writing. I mean the writing that isn’t perfect, isn’t exactly clean, precise, doesn’t always make sense. That’s some of my favourite writing, because it opens up all these possibilities—the idea that you might be reading something that even the author of the story didn’t intend for you to read. Those accidents that happen in writing… you know, my sentences sometimes get away from me, and so does my logic, and I find myself surprised by what I’m putting down on the page. But I love that. I leave in a lot of mistakes because I think they’re revealing. I think it adds up to a quickening of the blood.

– Sarah Nicole Prickett, on the Longform podcast, via DCB

Leave a Reply

