It seems obvious now, but I couldn’t reconcile with the keenness that comes with summer. How everyone was out and on their way somewhere, riffling through corner store freezers for pink popsicles, or enjoying the new swings they’d installed in the park. I wasn’t having any of it. I chose instead to live out my feelings through film, by pleading with Grace Kelly to not answer the phone—Turn around! I’d scream. There’s a man hiding behind the curtain! Or, enjoy with great enchantment Peter O’Toole’s slapstick charm in How To Steal A Million. His blue eyes, I remember thinking, were pure fiction: they were movie-blue.

– From Durga Chew-Bose’ stunning essay Summer Pictures

Leave a Reply

