I believe in the soul. I can’t tell you what it is, but I can feel it, it’s a sort of a presence and sometimes it vibrates very strongly. Years ago someone told me that Flaubert said the objects we are drawn to are not haphazard, they are material expressions of something intangible but vital that our soul wishes to bring to our attention, they are clues, in other words, and we should decipher them as such. I found that very interesting, and entirely feasible. I think what’s important to me, overall, is awareness, because I think when you are alert and receptive very interesting things begin to show up in your work, and you don’t have to rely on craft so much, you don’t have to engineer themes and so on.

Claire Louise Bennett interviewed in The Paris Review

Leave a Reply

